IEEE Southern Alberta


Archive for the ‘Awards and Recognition’ Category

2016 IEEE Educational Activities Pre-University Educator Award

Monday, July 18th, 2016

Congratulations to Tushar for winning the 2016 IEEE Educational Activities Pre-University Educator Award!

Happy Birthday!

Thursday, May 12th, 2016

Did you know the Southern Alberta Section was formed on May 10, 1956? Thank you to all of the members who have made the last 60 years possible. We look forward to the next 60!

2016 IEEE Canada Power Quality Scholarship

Thursday, May 12th, 2016

Congratulations Mohamad for winning the 2016 IEEE Canada Power Quality Scholarship!

2016 Outstanding Chapter Award

Thursday, May 12th, 2016

Congratulations to PES/IAS for receiving the award for Continued Outstanding Performance – Large Chapter!

IEEE Southern Alberta Section Scholarship Awards: Call for Nominations

Wednesday, March 30th, 2016

IEEE Southern Alberta Section awards are presented to recognize excellence in the academics, research and leadership for IEEE SAS. The awards are designed to increase the academic drive, to acknowledge excellence in research, and promote leadership in the section.

Award Description

  1. IEEE SAS – Academics – 1 award of $1000
  2. IEEE SAS – Research – 1 award of $1000
  3. IEEE SAS – Leadership – 1 award of $1000


  • A candidate can be eligible for these awards as long as they are an IEEE member or an IEEE student member who is attending a recognized post-secondary institution within the geographic boundaries of the IEEE Southern Alberta Section
  • Candidates must be nominated by a faculty advisor
  • Candidates can only apply for one award per year
  • Nominees for IEEE-SAS –Academics  have to be enrolled in an undergraduate degree program
  • Nominees for IEEE-SAS –Research  have to be enrolled in a graduate degree program
  • Nominees for IEEE SAS – Leadership can be either a graduate or an undergraduate student

Click here for an application form.

2016 Southern Alberta PES Outstanding Engineer Award

Wednesday, March 30th, 2016

The PES Outstanding Engineer Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the power engineering profession at the local level.  The award is open to IEEE PES members in the Southern Alberta Section.  Two awards will be presented annually based on years of experience: 1 for 15 years or less and 1 for more than 15 years.  More information on the award eligibility, nominator eligibility, and selection criteria is available here.  Nominations will be accepted here until May 31, 2016.

2015 E.F. Glass Western Canada Merit Award

Tuesday, March 15th, 2016

Congratulations to Rasheek for receiving the 2015 E.F. Glass Western Canada Merit Award!

2015 Volunteer Leadership Training Program

Thursday, March 10th, 2016

Congratulations to Dale and Milada for completing the Volunteer Leadership Training Program!

IEEE MTT Undergraduate Scholarship Winners

Monday, February 15th, 2016

Congratulations to Dhruv Bhaskar and David Garrett for winning IEEE MTT Undergraduate Scholarships!

IEEE MTT Undergraduate Scholarships are awarded semi-annually.  These scholarships are aimed towards a microwave or RF discipline and include a cash award of $1500 to be used towards a research project in the area of RF/microwave engineering.  For more details on these awards, click here.

2015 IEEE Canada Power Medal

Monday, December 21st, 2015

Congratulations to Bill Kennedy for winning the 2015 IEEE Canada Power Medal for outstanding contributions to the practice of power system protection and planning.